Fruitport Township Board Meeting – Minutes – 09/11/17


A work session of the Fruitport Charter Township Board began at 6:30pm on Monday, September 11, 2017, in the township board room.

Members Present: Heidi Tice, Supervisor; Andrea Anderson, clerk; Rose Dillon, Treasurer; Trustees Ron Becklin, Jeff Jacobs, Denise Winebarger, and Greg Hulka Members Absent: none

At 7:00pm, Heidi Tice opened the regular meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance followed by a 9-11 remembrance and prayer given by Rev. Ken Babcock.

Also Present: 44– residents; 10 – employees; 3- guests; Director of Public Safety, Brian Michelli; and Director of Public Utilities, Ron Langlois.

The motion by Rose Dillon, supported by Denise Winebarger, was carried unanimously, to approve the minutes of August 28, 2017 as presented.

The motion by Rose Dillon, supported by Greg Hulka, was carried unanimously, to approve the agenda as presented.


1. Fred Briggs and Rick Perreault from the Muskegon Motorcycle Club presented the township with a 20’x38’ flag as a donation for the 9-11 memorial flag pole located at the US-31/I96 interchange. A big thank you to the Muskegon Motorcycle Club for such a generous donation.



17-137 County Prosecutor representation agreement
Matt Roberts, Chief Trial Attorney from the Muskegon County Prosecutor’s office shared an update on the outcome of the trial period of Fruitport Township’s representation by the Prosecutor’s office for civil infractions written under ordinance. All is going well for both parties and only fines that are physically collected are shared 50/50 between the two parties. Invoices will begin November 1, 2017 for services beginning October 1, 2017.

Rose Dillon moved, Jeff Jacobs seconded, MOTION CARRIED, to enter into an ongoing agreement for representation by the Muskegon County Prosecutor’s office.

Ayes: Becklin, Jacobs, Anderson, Tice, Dillon, Winebarger, Hulka Nays: None

17-138 DDA update
Heidi has spoken with the county, but there is not yet a consensus on if they would plan to opt-out of a DDA in Fruitport Township. Further updates will come to the September 25th meeting.

17-139 Resolution to set public hearing for Sherman/Harvey special assessment business district
Rose Dillon moved, Greg Hulka seconded, MOTION CARRIED, to adopt resolution setting the public hearing date for September 25, 2017.

Ayes: Becklin, Jacobs, Anderson, Tice, Dillon, Winebarger, Hulka Nays: None

It was requested that the information be presented to the board as soon as it becomes available before the next meeting.

17-140 Kuis Drain
Due to Drain Commissioner, Brenda Moore, being held up at another meeting the board decided to move on to the next three topics while awaiting her arrival. There were many residents in attendance who had interest in the Kuis Drain. While the board was in closed session for item 8-C, Brenda arrived. When returning from closed session, most residents were gone and Brenda shared that she was able to take their comments and answer questions.

Brenda gave update to the board. 1,083 parcels will be effected by contract #1 and 83 parcels for contract #2. The township will be expected to share a 10% responsibility for contract #1 with Sullivan Township. Shared responsibility for contract #2 is being negotiated. At Fruitport Township’s request, the Drain Commissioner’s engineers and contractors have investigated where costs can be reduced.

There will be a day of review for the projects held at the office of the Muskegon County Drain Commissioner, 141 E. Apple Ave, Muskegon, MI 49442, on Wednesday, September 20, 2017 from 9:00am-5:00pm. Residents and interested parties are welcome to attend.


17-141 2016-2017 Audit presentation- Brickley DeLong
Eric VanDop,CPA and Senior Manager from the firm of Brickley DeLong, PLC, gave an overview and analysis of the financial activities of the Township for the fiscal Year ending March 2017. At the end of the analysis of the 2016- 2017 fiscal year, the governmental funds reported a total General Fund balance of $1,652,323.

Rose Dillon moved, Ron Becklin supported, MOTION CARRIED, to keep the 2016-2017 Audit report on file.

Ayes: Becklin, Jacobs, Anderson, Tice, Dillon, Winebarger, Hulka Nays: None

17-142 Computerized assessment roll
Rose Dillon moved, Denise Winebarger seconded, MOTION CARRIED, for Fruitport Township to adopt a resolution authorizing the use of a computerized database as the assessment roll and authorize the Fruitport Township supervisor and Fruitport Township assessor to complete and sign the “request for new certification for use of a computerized assessment roll by a local unit” form.

Ayes: Becklin, Jacobs, Anderson, Tice, Dillon, Winebarger, Hulka Nays: None

17-143 Closed session
A. Ron Becklin moved, supported by Rose Dillon, MOTION CARRIED, to go into closed session at 7:39pm per Section 8A of the Open Meetings Act, per employee’s request to discuss specific personnel matters.

Ayes: Becklin, Jacobs, Anderson, Tice, Dillon, Winebarger, Hulka Nays: None

B. The motion by Rose Dillon, seconded by Ron Becklin, was carried unanimously to go back into open session at 8:55pm.

17-144 Employee-Township separation
Andrea Anderson moved, Ron Becklin seconded, MOTION CARRIED, to authorize the Public Safety Director and the Township Supervisor to negotiate a separation agreement with the employee who requested closed session and to authorize the Public Safety Director to begin the process of filling the vacancy that will be created by this separation.

Ayes: Becklin, Anderson, Tice, Dillon, Hulka Nays: Jacobs, Winebarger

17-145 Payment of bills
Ron Becklin moved, Greg Hulka seconded, MOTION CARRIED, to approve bills as presented for payment in the following amounts: General Fund $21,590.69; Public Safety $30,927.02; Water $162,260.19; Sewer $17,263.10; Trust & Agency $1,430.00; Revolving Road $165,604.69 Totaling: $399,075.69

Ayes: Becklin, Jacobs, Anderson, Tice, Dillon, Winebarger, Hulka Nays: None


John Bumstead introduced himself as a candidate for State Senate.

The motion by Ron Becklin, supported by Andrea Anderson was carried unanimously, to adjourn the meeting at 9:58pm.