Fruitport Charter Township Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes of January 14, 2019

A work session of the Fruitport Charter Township Board began at 6:30pm on Monday, January 14, 2019, in the township board room.

Members Present: Heidi Tice, Supervisor; Andrea Anderson, Clerk; Rose Dillon, Treasurer; Trustees Greg Hulka, Jeff Jacobs, Terry Knoll, and Denise Winebarger
Members Absent: none

At 7:00pm, Heidi Tice opened the regular meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance followed by a prayer.

Also Present: 13- residents; 18- employees; 2- guests; Director of Public Safety, Brian Michelli; Director of Public Utilities, Ron Langlois.

The motion by Terry Knoll, supported by Greg Hulka, was carried unanimously, to approve the minutes of December 10, 2018 as presented.

The motion by Andrea Anderson, supported by Greg Hulka, was carried unanimously, to approve the agenda as presented.

1. Ron Langlois reported that the Motion Dynamics water main extension is in, the sewer extension is going out for bid, an expected completion of June 2019; the water main for the Chestnut Fields expansion is in, sewer in progress.
2. Brian Michelli shared that Fruitport’s generous participation in the sponsorship of a family through Shields of Hope led to a very Merry Christmas for a Fruitport family; a false bomb threat was reported at Fruitport High School; the Burning of the Greens event was cancelled as the result of criticism; Fruitport Public Safety departments participated in many public events during the Holidays.




18-155 Presentation of Fire Department commemorative badges
The Ahrens family of Fruitport wanted to show their appreciation to the Fire Department for the outstanding service they have provided to their family and community. 150 year commemorative badges were presented by the family. We thank the Ahrens family for their generosity and thoughtfulness.

18-156 Introduction of Public Safety Chaplin
Pastor Church has been the Chaplin for the Fruitport Public Safety departments for 21 years; we look forward to many more years of partnership in good times and bad.

18-157 Sheringer Park discussion
Sheringer Soccer Park was a topic of discussion at December’s Planning Commission meeting, where concerns and questions were brought up regarding field use, parking, restrooms, and ADA compliance. The topic will be discussed again at the next meetings of both the Planning Commission and the Township Board. Areas of discussion to include limiting the use of fields until parking is complete, Soccer Club contract & revenue, and whether the Board would be responsible to provide additional funding should the Planning Commission place a time line on the completion of the park per the site plan and planned phases.

18-158 Discussion of policies and procedures in regards to the Planning Commission
Points from this discussion include:
Policies on how developments are presented to the Planning Commission and procedures for the steps it shall go through in order to be deemed ready to be presented.
How Planning Commission documents are to be saved/stored electronically, who can access them, how are they protected.
Compensation of Planning Commission members who are requested to meet at times other than at a Planning Commission meeting to view development plans.
Procedures to be put in place by Board resolution.

18-159 Approve reappointment of Geoff Newmyer and Kyle Osterhart to Planning Commission
Andrea Anderson moved, Rose Dillon seconded, MOTION CARRIED, to approve the Supervisor’s reappoint of Geoff Newmyer and Kyle Osterhart to a three year term on the Planning Commission. Their terms will end February 1, 2022.
Ayes: Hulka, Winebarger, Dillon, Tice, Anderson, Jacobs, Knoll
Nays: none

18-160 Approve mileage rates for 2019
The motion by Denise Winebarger, seconded by Greg Hulka, was carried unanimously, to adopt the standard mileage rates issued by the IRS for 2019, $0.58/mile.

18-161 Approve water rate increase
Rose Dillon moved, supported by Terry Knoll, MOTION CARRIED, to adopt the fifteenth revised Water Rate Resolution to approve a water rate increase of $0.17 per 1,000 gallons, effective January 15, 2019.
This increase is due to an increase in the cost to Fruitport from the City of Muskegon for in capital improvements and operating expenses at the City of Muskegon’s Filtration Plant. This increase came recommended by the DPW Committee.
Ayes: Knoll, Jacobs, Anderson, Tice, Dillon, Winebarger, Hulka
Nays: None

18-162 Payment of bills
Jeff Jacobs moved, Rose Dillon seconded, MOTION CARRIED, to approve bills as presented for payment in the following amounts: General Fund $107,051.47; Public Safety $58,742.93; Water $70,970.08; Sewer $22,490.39; Street Lights $28,377.16; T&A $1,861.00
Totaling: $289,493.03
Ayes: Hulka, Winebarger, Dillon, Tice, Anderson, Jacobs, Knoll
Nays: none

1. Heidi Tice shared that calendars are still available for sale, $15 each.
2. Rose Dillon shared current financials.

1. Ron Cooper had questions regarding the authority of the Planning Commission; suggested keeping hard copies of Planning Commission files; made comment on the water rate increase.
2. Zach Lahring introduced himself as the new Muskegon County Commissioner representing Fruitport Township.

The motion by Terry Knoll, supported by Heidi Tice, was carried unanimously, to adjourn the meeting at 8:12pm.