Muskegon County Commissioners Elect Vice-Chairperson

The Muskegon County Board of Commissioners held its annual Organizational Meeting January 4th, 2022.  The Board voted 5-4 to elect Commissioner Susie Hughes (District 3) as vice-chairperson. 

Susie Hughes, Vice-Chairperson

Susie Hughes brings experience to this position as she has served as a County Commissioner since 2013.  Commissioner Hughes has a long list of service to the Muskegon community as she has served as past Chairman of the Board, served on many committees of the whole, and has served on various community boards and committees including being a founding member of the Sportsman for Youth Program and past Chairman of the West Michigan Regional Development Commission.

Robert Scolnik, Chairman

Chairman Bob Scolnik (District 4) was elected to serve as Chairman for a two-year term in 2021.  He was first elected to the Board in 2003.  Chairman Scolnik is an entrepreneur and philanthropist.  He serves on many committees and boards in the community including the Boys & Girls Club and the Library Board. During today’s meeting, Scolnik announced his choices to chair the board’s committees-of-the-whole. 

These are the committee leaders:

  • Community Development/Strategic Planning – Chairman Doug Brown ◊ Vice-Chairman Susie Hughes
  • Courts & Public Safety – Chairman Malinda Pego ◊ Vice-Chairman Marcia Hovey-Wright
  • Human Services – Chairman Marcia Hovey-Wright ◊ Vice-Chairman Zach Lahring
  • Transportation – Chairman Doug Brown ◊ Vice-Chairman Rillastine Wilkins
  • Ways & Means – Chairman Kim Cyr ◊ Vice-Chairman Doug Brown